A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Egg Layer: Chicken Love

This is the supposed egg layer, Tuesday, being held by my very proud Taxman. He built the chicken tractor they reside in and he has supported my every chicken-endeavor so far. Although he is not big on changing water or feeding the girls, he does go out on the mornings he's home and let's them out to stretch their legs. He loves them almost as much as me; that's obvious from this shot.

This afternoon when I went outside to take some pictures of them, I had the most wonderful experience. I sat down on a concrete bench and all the hens came up close to me with all their normal curiosity. They pecked at my shoes and examined the camera lens to see if it was something good to eat. Then while I was focusing on those who were a bit of a distance away from me, Beatrice hopped right up onto my left knee. Now, just so you know, she IS totally my favorite and is very sweet, but all summer long she had become standoffish and would not come too close to me. It made me sad because she had been very friendly when she was younger. So, I sat real still with her balancing on my knee for quite a long time. I started petting her back and she would turn her head to look at my hand but she stayed put for about ten minutes. She relaxed into the caressing and kind of 'sat down' right on my knee. She wobbled a bit but that did not bother her. I told her how much I loved her and how special she is and she looked right in my eye while I talked to her. What on earth has gotten into her? One (Hilda), two, and three more hopped up to sit next to Beatrice and me on the bench. I wish I had a picture - crazy chicken lady I am. All the girls seem more friendly than they were a week ago and I've not done anything different, so it's either some instinct that has kicked in since Tuesday started laying eggs, or they are in winter survival mode and they realize that their survival depends on us. I'm just guessing here.

Dad has been moving pretty slow the past few days and I'm a little worried, but keeping my eye on him. I'm also laying awake each night from about 2 - 4 a.m. listening and imagining him falling down in the night. It's such a big responsibility when you're the only one he totally relies on. So, in sympathy, I fell down today. Yep, just fell right off the step from the house to the garage. I was laying there trying to figure out what happened and my Taxman happened to be home and just steps away. I felt so stupid. Utterly stupid - I almost cried. I still don't know how I managed to end up on the garage floor. Nothing broken, except my pride. It was later that Beatrice decided to let in on the fact that she thinks I'm pretty special. I love those chickens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.