Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Cut a Cane

"The goal of life is living in agreement with nature"

- Zeno of Citium (the founder of stoicism, for 600 years the dominant philosophy of the Graeco-Roman elite)

Of course, we are ourselves nature, but I think we can take Zeno's point as made. ;-)

These roses were all on one great thick tall cane - which I had to amputate, as it was pulling the whole plant over at a monstrous angle, all over the plant next to it. I was very sad, but it had to be done. Living in agreement with nature isn't always letting it be; many very natural things are less than ideal - or even dangerous - and a bit of un-natural intervention can sometimes help it all work out better. So I hope this rose won't keel over and pull itself out of the ground now that I've made it shed some weight. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.