TrishaR

By TrishaR

The Snowy Path

I knew by the amount of snow that was falling last night that there was no way that I could drive to work this morning! Yesterday, my wee car was sitting in snow up to the top of the wheels and this morning was even worse. As I set off down the hill there was abandoned cars all over the place. There was a lady in a 4x4 stuck behind a saloon car whose wheels were spinning. She was out with her spade trying to get a path round it. The funning thing was she had on her dressing gown and pj's!! A photographer from the local paper had passed and took her picture - she was not happy! Most of Central Scotland had ground to a halt and heard of hundreds of travellers caught out by the blocked roads had been brought by police to a community hall in Perth to spend the night.

Took me an hour to walk to work, the pavements were very bad too. I brought my camera to work and took a walk at lunchtime along a little path nearby, which the town lade flows past. I saw woodpecker, blackbirds, ducks, chaffinch, blue and great tits all flying around. I was told by another walker that there is also a kingfisher who flies around by unfortunately did not see him.

The snow started again around 2pm so as were walking, was told to leave early so could get home in daylight. Buses are non-existent so off on foot. My husband did not manage to get to Edinburgh for work, so he did his bit by walking to my mothers to take essentials to her as she has been indoors since Friday and is under strict instructions not to venture over the door.

I know I will be walking again to work tomorrow - just hope it's not in a blizzard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.