Ralph Cooper

By ralphcooper

Hendon Hall Hotel

The World Cup is very topical at the moment. England are bidding to hold the 2018 World Cup.

I'm staying at the Hendon Hall Hotel this week, so I thought I'd cash in on the World Cup theme.

What, you may ask, has the Hendon Hall Hotel got to do with the World Cup?

Well the last time England hosted the world cup was 1966.

And.... I hear you say.

On the afternoon of the 30th July 1966 England faced and defeated (West) Germany at the old Wembley Stadium.

I was 2 1/2 and don't really remember it.

But catchphrases such as "They think it's all over.... It is now!" have become widely known.


"So what has this got to do with where you are staying some 44 years later?"


The England squad spent the night of 29th July 1966 HERE! At this very hotel!



If I was a fan of the glorious game, I might get excited.

But I'm not, so I won't.

:~))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.