horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Waxwing Lyrical

Still resolutely not blipping the snow...

I think this is possibly my third Waxwing blip, but I'm making no apologies as they're just such fantastic birds.

For the first time in about 5 years the weather stopped me riding to work today, although seeing the roads from the bus window made me realise they were a LOT better than yesterday, so I'll likely be two-wheeled again tomorrow.

Work is work, with communication still filtering through the company in the form of Chinese whispers rather than clear guidance; a lunch hour wander stretched the definition of 'hour' to breaking point. I'd gone out on a tip for a Waxwing location. nothing doing, so I looped round via the frozen Union Canal, seeing some Spuggies trying to keep warm. Trudging back to the office past a car park a heard, just, the tiniest trill of a call. About 50 yards away, in the top of a tree were about 30-40 Waxwings. As I walked up they had other flocks appear and join them, giving me about 300 at the height, which at times would take off in unison, swoop down to steal some berries from nearby trees, then regain the top of the tree with a sentry posted. Which gave time for some others to look daft...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.