While on my runs

By waipushrink

Waiting....

This morning I went out a little later than usual, and as I went past this Rest Home I spotted these two men sitting outside, one smoking. The smoker is someone I see quite frequently later in the day as he bustles across the busy road in that way old men walk which is somewhat reminiscent of small children; almost a run. Observing the cigarette this morning, I perhaps have an explanation as to why he is where he is those other times; returning from the neighbourhood store where he can buy his supply.
I feel that in a way I know this man, although clearly he would not know me; he is part of my environment. So I asked his and his companion's permission to take their picture, and got the nod. Not wanting to intrude too much, I took just the one.
One may speculate about what they are waiting for; breakfast, the shop to open, some activity. Sadly. it is also likely that they are waiting for the end.
It felt right, therefore, to put this into black and white, and to make them very much the centre of the picture by using the vignette app in iPhoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.