Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Lifeguard Station

Drove to Seagull Beach on the south side of Cape Cod in the hope of capturing one of the lighthouses dotted around the coast.

A fierce wind was blowing in off the ocean, I don't know exactly what the windchill factor was but my hands were frozen within minutes. The lighthouse was several hundred yards along a beach of soft sand. It probably would have taken half an hour to reach it. I decided it wasn't worth the effort.

I made do with a few shots of the lifeguard station. And you know me, I cannot let more than a few days go by without resorting to a black & white shot.

This B&W conversion is one of my own rather than an off-the-peg one.

Having finished at this beach. I thought I would drive a little closer to the aforementioned lighthouse, only to discover that the road leading toward it becomes the entrance to a gated community. Damn Google maps! For someone raised on OS one-inch maps, Google is the equivalent of Noddy & Big Ears do mapping.

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.