Quick 'n' cold

Clouds thin like cotton candy stretching across a clear blue sky turn a beautiful shade of pink at sunrise and sunset. That's how the day arrived and that is how it departed. I was warned of black ice since temperatures were predicted to dip below freezing. Though they did, there was no ice. Under suitably warm clothing, winter can be most enjoyable. Had been shuttling between a client's office out in the suburbs and a partner's office at downtown these past few days. Finally had a chance to visit our offices here. Our meeting room was at a corner on the 17th floor and the views of the city were beautiful. I didn't really get to take a good picture (the one on the right) and I secretly blame the glass for it.

The day was very busy yet again, and leading up to the middle of the month I won't have much breathing space. So much happens in a day, so much speed is demanded, there is little opportunity to pause, to reflect or to even feel. I like being busy to an extent, when it makes you value those brief moments of quiet you get for yourself, which you are in a position to experience so much more fully. But when it gets even busier, the subtle senses grow numb and everything becomes a continuum without end. Not very unlike the absolutely idle state of mind.

I will remember the moment though I stood in front of the hotel after the sun had gone down. The last few flecks of blue were pushed to the margins of the sky. The wind was mild and the cold disguising its threat under a soothing smile. I just stood in silence, letting my fingers, the tip of my nose, the outline of my ears grow colder and listening to O Holy Night on nylon strings waltzing with the wind.

Grabbed a bite for dinner at Panera bread which had been recommended by multiple sources. It was fine, but won't make it to my top ten here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.