Flakes flashed

There'd been more snow overnight, though nothing too desperately heavy. Still it added to what was already there, and the wintry wonderland look was reinforced around home.

I was due to do one of my 'interviews' in town this evening with a potential new member of the music group. My favourite forecast site had stubbornly insisted that temperatures would remain above freezing today, only falling again around 9.00 pm, so I was still thinking in terms of going in to town later on. Just to see for myself if news reports about bus services were accurate I decided to go for a bit of a walk before lunch to check out what conditions were like on the main roads. Sure enough, Collins Avenue and the Malahide Road were snow-free, and buses were running.

The reconnoitre somehow developed into a bit of a serious walk, and I ended up doing a full circuit and staying out for almost an hour and a half. I was well wrapped up, and, apart from the old fingertips, didn''t really didn't feel at all cold, despite spending most of the time battling against a persistent light snowfall and mini-blizzard conditions.

I got back home around 1.45. At 2.00 the real snow began. Serious stuff. Big flakes, lots of them, driven by a strong wind. It was coming from a new direction too, and quickly began to pile up. I sneaked regular looks and was amazed at how quickly things changed outside, with noticeable driftign developing remarkably quickly. By the time it finished it had been snowing non-stop for sic hours, and my car had all but vanished. The blip shows an accidental use of flash during one of my checking sessions. I rather liked the look of it, so it became the surprising blip choice over all the other more regular shots of piles of snow and people struggling against the elements or revelling in them.

p.s. There was an email waiting for me when I got back from my walk. The potential new member of the music group decided it wouldn't be a good idea to meet tonight. We'll try again in a week's time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.