Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

To Bradford 4 Miles

Bradford has been snowed-in for the past few days. Many of us that live here have had our journeys disrupted and schools and workplaces have been closed.  People have found themselves having to abandon their normal way of getting about, and have been taking new routes.

Today I found my train journey from Bradford to Baildon curtailed at Shipley, so I set off on foot down Otley Road so that I could make my school pick-up. This is a road I hardly travel down, and even more rarely on foot. It is an old turnpike road, and the milestone in this picture was erected by the Turnpike Trust Company.

A simple image, that for me captures the snow that had brought me to that spot on foot, and reminds me that sometimes the distances we have built up in our mental maps of a city are not so far after all.  I do walk a lot, but there are certain routes and destinations that I tackle by bus or by train without thinking. Maybe I should step out on foot a bit more.

Baildon Local History Society have devised a Turnpike Walk Heritage Trail which explores this patch of the village more fully.

Editorial Note: This is the first entry of this Blipfoto journal. Earlier images are archive blips, this is where I started the (mainly) daily process of blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.