Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Blackbird

This is the first pic of the day, the feeder table was busy with all types of finch and tit and then along came my first blacky of the season.
Last year I counted as many as 24 waiting in my trees to come in to feed......yes I did think '4 and 20 balckbirds'...and 'wasn't that a dainty dish' etc.

We still, like the rest of the country, are snowed up.
We managed to get out -roads have been cleared with the plough - to Pocklington to do some shopping, we took our good friend 'Burrows' and also our nieghbour Guy Wilson (87yrs old) with us so they could stock up too.
As we drove along, Guy reminised about the snows of years ago, how they would sledge till midnight, walk miles -in the snow- to a local dance, getting home at 3am.

It was a joy and an education to listen to his tales of times gone by, times we can't possibly comprehend.
If you have a family member or neighbour of this age group, you really must make them your friend, they have all the knowledge you will ever need, and remember, you too will hopefully get to a grand age........I coud go on.

I do believe his generation -although they lived through the hell of war- probably had the best times.

When we returned, I helped him back with his shopping, we talked about the amount of snow, he said that he couldn't remember having so much on the ground, the bad winters of 47 and the early 60's were mostly drifts.
I'm hoping that the winds don't pick up too much, I have about two foot in my back garden, there's lots more up on the tops, we don't need it drifting.

I took some photo's of his pigeon lofts in his back garden, he hasn't kept pigeons for some years now...the lofts remain.

Whilst in Pocklington I found a good deal in Sainsburys, wine down from £8. 99 to £4.99 buy the case of six bottles for £20.00.

Didn't need a calculator!!


Keep warm and safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.