Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Walking Jake

I took the dogs out just after lunch today and although the sun was shining brilliantly it was still only about -2.5C, with a noticeable westerly breeze. We had some light snow last night, composed of perfect tiny crystals that shimmered in the brightness.

In a break from tradition, I decided not to do a wildlife blip today, although I captured quite a few images of mute swans, black-headed gulls loafing on the ice and a rabbit gnawing on some bark, in a bid to assuage its hunger. These images can be seen on my blog.

I saw this couple of dog walkers just at the end of my walk, and managed a single sneaky shot before they noticed me. I was struck by how right they looked together, their almost matching clothing and postures, and their obvious empathy with their little dog, Jake. The whiteness of the scene makes it difficult to work out where they are standing. They're actually right on the edge of a slipway, next to the frozen river. This spot is one of our dogs' favourite swimming places - but not today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.