Song Thrush

Turdus philomelos. Introduced to New Zealand from England, along with blackbirds, in 1862.

This could be one of a pair that recently moved into my garden. Four days ago they began building a nest in the grape and wisteria vines above the entrance to my verandah. I wondered how this site would suit them because I am coming and going all the time. On that first day, as one quietly got on with the job, the other fought a long and aggressive battle with another thrush on the front lawn.

Each day for three days the nest progressed. I was several times surprised by a bird making eye contact with me. Today, however, I have seen no activity at the nest. Have they changed their minds?

The cat is much better today. She is walking with a slight limp and the swelling has gone down.

One year ago: the moon and Mount Torlesse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.