A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Our First Snowfall

As predicted, we received about five inches of snow last night. My Taxman and I were thrilled with anticipation - me, mostly because it meant my Taxman would be home to clear the driveway. The chickens aren't thrilled one bit; they have no interest in leaving the hen house at all. We did get our two eggs first thing this morning from Monday and Tuesday. My taxman fried them up (the eggs, not Monday & Tuesday) and they were the best eggs I've ever eaten.

Dad's still trying to figure out the snow. His reaction was a bit like a child's might be: "It looks like carpeting....it's even piled up on the patio furniture. It's almost pretty, isn't it?" Yes Dad, it is beautiful indeed. I'm pretty sure his head is full of snow = dread. The roof might cave in. Dangerous driving conditions. Trapped inside. But he's keeping these thoughts mostly to himself. He's trying to see the positive and I give him credit there. He doesn't seem very chipper lately. I'm afraid he's slipping into boredom. I'm glad our son-in-law stopped by today to visit for awhile. The boys watched a bit of football together, which Dad enjoys.

This is our neighbor across the street. I think it's great that they get their snow mobile out and ride it around their house...around and around they go, sometimes pulling each other on plastic sleds with ropes. A single mom lives their with her teenage son and they manage to have lots of good fun year round. He also has a golf cart that she lets him drive around the neighborhood in the summer (he doesn't have a drivers license yet).

My Taxman announced that he's making mole burritos for dinner and that sounds like an excellent plan to me (truth is, as long as someone else plans for and cooks a meal, I'm pleased). I'm prepping for a show tomorrow - I'm really out of practice and it feels laborious to me right now. But I'm sure it will be an emotional boost to get out there and talk to people about hand crafted soap - and maybe sell some too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.