ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Points along the way

Who stole the weekend? How is it Sunday evening already?

Time flies even faster when you are busy and having fun! I enjoyed a crisp drive out to Tranent earlier, where Geoffrey and I together were leading worship this morning. Part of the response that the congregation were invited to make (more than just a financial offering today), was to build this cairn our of stones that we had distributed earlier in the service. They mark the community of faith that these people represent, and the metaphorical alters to God that we build as we mark stages on our journeys of life (and faith?). This isn't a new idea...

The Lord had said to Abram, 'Leave your native country, your relatives, and your father's family, and go to the land that I will show you.... So Abram departed as the Lord had instructed... Abram travelled through the land as far as Shechem. There he set up camp beside the oak of Moreh. Then the Lord appeared to Abram and said, 'I will give this land to your descendants.' And Abram built an altar there and dedicated it to the Lord, who had appeared to him. Genesis 12.1-8

This was a staging-post on my journey for the day- as I drank coffee that the kind folk at Tranent provided, and headed on to Ratho. I wasn't climbing, rather taking some more photos for Robbie. So I didn't bother changing out of my suit-jacket. I got quite a few raised eye-brows walking around the climbing arena dressed like that! Still wearing the suit, I am now dropping this journal entry before heading out again to an evening gathering of friends. I think I may fit in there better dressed this way...

Anyway, who did I find hiding behind the cairn? Just Geoffrey...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.