ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Adapting to winter

Well, I waved off Rosie and Tim at St Andrews Street Bus station (not St Andrews bus station, which is in Fife, and which we had phoned in error for information earlier in the morning...) this morning. They would get to Aberdeen, and on to Lerwick: Just a day later than expected... Although I am conscious that they missed out on a celebration this evening because of the weather induced late arrival, it was nice for me to get to host them last night.

Anyway, delivery to bus station complete, I was freed up to spend the rest of the day with Peter and Lottie, and their friends Mark and Cassie. We headed into the Pentlands to hike though the deep snow, and slide on stomach/bum/anything slidey dack down. We were going to make a snow-man too (or maybe an igloo), but light and energy ran out, so we retreated back to the Steading for a drink. And then back to Marchmont, where Francesca joined us for dinner.

It was nice to be able to get out and about after a week cooped up looking at the snow, but not having a necessary journey to make through it as an excuse to get out and about. It is perfectly productive for me to work at home. The only advantage of the office is colleagues to speak with. But last week, the colleagues were not there to talk with... Now that I've been out over plenty of snow in the car yesteray and today, the winter driving skills of last year are all flooding back to me. I think I have adpated- bring on winter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.