Appreciation

By Appreciation

Complete Opposites Attract

Here is the complete opposite extreme from yesterday's blip. A modern building with no character in chocolate brown, guarded by ultra modern street lighting. There was a lone figure who was in black but the shots of him weren't as clear. The sky was incredible too - a veritable two tone tango was occuring.

Like the pictures, my day today was the opposite of yesterday's relaxed shop. A trip to Queensferry by bus took 2 hours. I thought yesterday was cold, but this morning was much colder. I could feel a brain freeze coming on. I even considered a greggs take-away coffee, and I loathe those things. Mum was ecstatic to see me, she is obviously feeling the isolation more than I thought. We cheered things up soon enough by getting down the Christmas decorations. I feel we can be excused not adhering to the 12th night rule as I will hopefully be putting my own up then, and putting up theirs made them both smile. Dad commented on being exhausted after all that work. He had actually sat in the chair and told me what should go where. Fair dos I suppose, its taxing being the foreman.

Granny's house has always had paper decorations hanging from the ceiling. Outdated, or retro aside, they are a constant which no-one feels ready to give up. All the grandchildren talk about them and would be so upset not to see them. They are as much a tradition to us as Turkey is to most.

Queensferry is also host to the most amazing icicles. Some as tall as houses and wide as my thighs - and that's wide. They string along whole streets. I also saw a three legged dog there. Not funny I know, but between my cold numb brain, the icicles and my parents hysterical smiles, the dog really had me wondering if I was in La La land. And oh by the way, my dad has won the lottery - again, but this time he actually got the money. His generosity today knew no bounds. Whatever keeps him happy is good for me, a white lie here or there did no harm. Am I a bad daughter?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.