Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Shadow Tree

I'm not out much during daylight at the moment, so opportunities to take outdoors pictures are slim. Today I was lucky that there was a strong morning sun accompanying my walk to work from the station across the city. In light such as that much of Bradford glows. Sunlight warms the sandstone that forms so many of the great buildings of the city, which I expect will start to feature in this blog as I go along.

In this early morning light, the shadows are deep, and the sides of the taller buildings become canvases on which the sun can throw shapes. It was when I got close to work that this strong image of a shadow tree leapt out at me.

shadow tree ~ on the wall ~ painted ~ by the morning sun ~ ephemeral

The picture was taken within 50 metres of yesterday's blip. It shows the exterior of the University's Richmond Building. A 1965 build, it is not the most striking of the city's buildings, although through its size is a dominant presence. Moments like this show a building to be more than a uniform, consistent block of materials. They change with the light and the weather, and that's what makes every walking journey a subtly different experience. If we look up and around, that is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.