The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

View from the Ent

Could this be Treebeard looking towards Fanghorn?

It was a bitingly cold morning after a clear-skied night. The snow was crunchy underfoot, not the wet squishy stuff we normally get, but more like the snow you find in the high Alps.

My regular routine if I don't have to rush off to work, is to walk up the road to the pastures above Arnside Tower and watch the sun rise behind the woodlands on the opposite side of the valley.

Back in the Summer I did this when I woke early and couldn't get back to sleep, but that was really early. Now I can have a lie-in and still see the dawn. In fact this morning I was 15 minutes early. The point at which the sun rises has moved far round the sky to the south as we approach the nadir of the solar cycle. Each day it's position of rise and set is discernibly different.

Business was by teleconference today, so I could work at home and enjoy a morning and afternoon walk, while being distracted by the starlings squabbling at the feeders.

Back in the office tomorrow, so I may be back to my staple of estuary shots as I travel to work along the prom at Sandside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.