an image of teamdel

By teamdel

The Calm Before and After the Storm

As per Wednesdays the afternoon is Daddy time, and today we needed to do some Christmas shopping.

So I picked up Toddler from nursery at lunchtime. Just as I was leaving to get her I realised I had forgotten a bag so ran back in the house to get it before leaving. This and the fact I could not find a place to park meant I was about 8 or 9 minutes late.

I used to always be early but now they do not let anyone in until 12.30 on the dot, so as waiting in the cold and rain is not very appealing I now try to get there on time. I am not usually late and on the occasions I have been in the past it has been fine, but not today.

I went in the room and as I was being told how good Mia had been by one of the key workers another sterner older lady suddenly appeared next to me and scornfully told me off for being late, speaking to me as though I was a two year old.

Toddler and I then hit the shops. Christmas shopping is always tough but with a toddler is really tough. There were quite a few tantrum some from her and some from me. We ended up pretty much getting all the bits we needed but then toddler refused to leave for home which resulted in her being carried over my shoulder screaming at me about walking and about cake. It was a lovely sight for everyone getting of the Isle of Wight ferry and very much an appropriate welcome to Pomey.

Then two minutes later in the car she was asleep. On the drive back I pulled over and took a few snaps of the sea. I drove about for a bit then parked up at home and sat in the car till toddler woke.

The rest of the evening has also been quite tough, I think toddler must have teeth on the way as she decided she was going to go straight to bed, then as I said goodnight she decided actually she needed a bath. Then I had to get Wife to persuade her out of the bath as she had decided not to listen to me anymore.

Thankfully as soon as she got in bed after this she fell asleep. Lets hope this is a longer calm this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.