dailykeith

By dailykeith

Iron in the soul

I'm going through one of those phases that seems to hit blippers.

I'm losing inspiration, my pictures are frequently rubbish and... well, it's just lots of effort some days to keep this thing going. And I'm not sure how much longer I'm going to be able to stick at it.

It doesn't help having the turmoil we've been experiencing at work.

And it certainly is a disadvantage being a bit of a perfectionist. I hate submitting sub-standard stuff and I can probably count on the fingers of one hand the number of images I have on here of which I'm truly proud.

Sorry, I'm not fishing for positive comments - I'm just weary with all sorts of things at the moment.

I got up early today and went for a stroll in the city centre. I do enjoy seeing towns and cities waking up and springing into life.

A chap at the farmers' market gave me a sample of his Christmas fruit loaf. "It's 'Christmas' fruit loaf because it has an extra ingredient - marzipan," he said.

He then got chatting.

"Oh, if you're on your way to work, you can have an extra piece," he added.

It was absolutely delicious and was reaching for a couple of pound coins in my pocket when I noticed the price...£5.50. Ouch!

I said I had to go and, even though I was leaving empty-handed, he cheerfully shouted: "Have a good day." I felt bad about not buying his loaf, but I couldn't understand why it had to be so expensive.

I then got chatting to a couple more market traders.

"This freezing cold is an absolute killer," one of them said. "We're finding it difficult to work here day in, day out. It's all right for you office workers in the warm."

He was right, but I could only offer platitudes before moving on.

Finally, I passed the Victoria Fountain (pictured), which was made by the Coalbrookdale Iron Company of Shropshire to celebrate Queen Victoria's fortieth birthday in 1859.

And then with the clock racing on , it was off to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.