Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Winter Rose

I don't usually post shots of flowers mainly because other people, you know very well who you are :-) do them so much better. But I was rushed for time today. My time has been occupied by sorting through 14 months of photographs, trying to select the better ones for inclusion on the Web site.

Like most photographers, I find it difficult to make these kind of choices. I think one of my biggest problems is that I quite often let dross pass through the quality control procedure. All right, all right. There's no need for you all to nod quite so enthusiastically in agreement. :-)

Any road up, as they say in Stoke-on-Trent, it was 4:15 pm before I ventured outside today and it was a dull grey afternoon, so little chance to catch the sun's dying rays.

I happened upon some candy-striped roses. I still throws me out a little to see what is quintessentially a summer flower, in Britain, still in bloom in the month of December. But that is Florida for you.

I thought this winter rose would bring a bit of cheer for those people suffering under cooler climes and the chance to project their thoughts to summer 2011.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.