Lazy lizard!

It would appear that Carlos likes his food NOT to run away from him. So, unlike his owner (James), Carlos has shown that he loves melon and certain types of lettuce and is preferring them to the crickets. Either that, or the crickets are eluding our reptilian friend - I was one of the crickets burrow the sand out from under the water bowl this evening and he went and hid. Another one did similar, except under the small dish where the fruit and veg are!!!

Carlos seems like he is 'not bovvered' - he basks on his branch, soaking up the rays from his lamps. In fact, he doesn't want to come out to play so much the last 48 hours. He comes out, has a quick look around and then does a flying lizard impression and attempts to launch himself back into his tank. Silly boy.

He is a model of calm and composure. To watch him is to be soothed and calmed.

I was of a mind to have a rant. About role models. This came about after watching an hour of coverage from Parliament Square and the House of Commons. I'm not sure which group of people I was more disappointed with. Some of our parliamentary representatives, who show little respect for each other - interrupting, jeering, shouting, making inappropriate interjections for which the Speaker of the House admonishes them. Or the 'students' who set fire to dustbins, (allegedly) throw snooker balls and missiles at the Police, who stand behind news reporters pulling ridiculous faces, then cheering and shouting in a manner more appropriate for the arrival of Faithless onto the stage at Glastonbury. I found it difficult to be sympathetic to either group. I have my own views about tuition fees. I don't see that education, post compulsory, should be 'free', or rather funded by the state (i.e. tax payers). It took years to clear my University debts - but that was life. But I got a Degree, which opened doors and ultimately enabled me to be in this wonderful job that I have. I have benefitted from that.

I don't know - it seems to me that if you are going to protest, do so peacefully and in a manner that demonstrates that your protest is worthy and that your values are sound. But if you are joining in a protest as part of a mob mentality, which I suspect that a great many people there today were (judging by twitter feeds), then that undermines the genuine voice of the people who want to exercise the right to protest and make themselves heard.

Equally, it seems to me that if you are representing people, then your behaviour and contributions to debate and discussion should be considered, show respect and that you should demonstrate skills of listening, reflecting and offering constructive counter argument.

A 10 year old I know said "They are like animals in the zoo". I'm not sure which group he was referring too and I resisted the urge to pass comment.

Who knows. Wonder if I will get into trouble for voicing my opinion?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.