With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

809 metres

Will ye go lassie go?. Well I did, with the other lassies, Mich (our friend and expert guide), Orisit and Wendy. What a fabulous trip it was, starting from Bunyola through the olive groves to the oak forest of Cas Garriguer, past the lime kilns and charcoal burners' huts and the peak Penya .... (Mich, help me here!). It's the first thing I've bagged for ages and boy did it feel good. We could see out to Alcudia to the North, Cabrera island way off, the valley with Orient nestled far below and the bay of Palma stretched out beneath us. Even the helicopters were flying below us. The journey down was delightful following a gorge, feeling the crunch of the millions of acorns underfoot turn to the squelch of olives and past a weird house built into a cave in the gorge bottom. We saw about seven people in total, gathering mushrooms, harvesting olives and three fellow walkers, a few noisy dogs, horses and a cow sporting an Elton John haircut, and a curious goat as we ate our picnic. Great company and plenty of laughs, sunshine and blue skies and not one twinge worth mentioning from the old war wound.

I had to rush back, just having time to change my walking boots, to teach a little in Deiá, and enjoyed the coastal drive in the sunset. And then back home to make a quick chicken curry for the boys, my face still glowing, and really rather pleased with myself. As my lovely friends reminded me, who would have thought I could do this a few months ago?

Thanks Mich for being an expert guide, botanical and historical, never mind provider of poles, map finding, driving, motivation and general good cheer. And of course to my fellow walkers Kirsty and Wendy. Never a dull moment. Today made me feel 100% alive and lucky to be so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.