Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Manhole Covers

A full day again. I unfortunately sat through Stoke City's 1-0 defeat at home to Blackpool. As far as Stoke were concerned, it was one of those days when the ball just would not go in the net and they really do need to focus on not giving the ball away so easily. They don't make things easy for themselves.

After the game, I set to on the Website, resizing 108 images for the gallery thumbnails. Tomorrow, I have the pleasure of resizing them again for their own gallery page. I also may need to have a rethink on some of the images. It's my usual problem with quality control and in endeavouring to demonstrate the different genres of photography, some mediocre images are getting through just to make up the numbers, while some better shots are not making the cut because space is limited.

The weather is back to normal today, with a temperature of 64 degrees F. The sun broke through again around 3:30pm creating lovely light and long shadows.

I headed out in the car to the elevated section of Insterstate 95, where it passes over Margaret Street. The adjacent land seems to be a repository for the transportation department. A lot of the scaffolding had been removed since my last visit but there were enough odds and ends lying around to create several good photographic opportunities.

These stacked manhole covers caught the light and lent themselves to the high contrast B&W mode. Just for the record, I did shoot some shots in RAW but this shot stood head and shoulders above the rest.

I told you I had a problem with quality control. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.