CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Memories triggered

After dropping Helena off in Sheepscombe, I went wandering the back lanes towards Cranham Woods, still with a slightly slippy-slidey feel on the icy roads. The light was slowly clearing from the mists that have prevailed.

I wanted to use Dave's long lens, but just wasn't inspired by any particular views. I haven't even got it out of the bag. Tried a stone stile, some indoor shots at the Fair, some beechwood leaves still glowing brown in the sunlight. I drove on to Prinknash Abbey, where there can be interesting aspects across the Severn Vale to Gloucester and beyond. The mist was quite thick down below in the Vale, but the sun's position left a lot to be desired. I needed to come back towards dusk, not midday.

Just above the Abbey there was a boring shot of silhouetted trees against the back-lit mist, but my heart wasn't in it.

I walked to the edge of the avenue and when up close to this tree, I realised it was an Eucalyptus. Suddenly I felt uplifted by the memory of walking in the landscape of the Blue Mountains, near Sydney, NSW when I lived there for the 'winter' of 1982-3. The sensations of the heat and smells came straight back, with the outrageous light that either blew your mind or burnt your skin, or both. So here is an approximation of blue skies, with peeling Eucalyptus bark, and Gloucester's Robinswood Hill in the background. However it was only 2 degrees celsius today, rather than the 37 degrees I remember in Sydney.

If I find a better Blip when I pick Helena up, this picture won't be here for long after sunset. If it is still present, it hasn't been a great blipping day.

Postscript
I did get some later shots which I am pleased with. I was early for our rendezvous, so drove the long way through Catswood. I halted the car briefly by the old way, the ancient road from Gloucester to Cirencester, and spooked five deer, who ran, stopped, stared, then took off. No time to react though. Just round the corner, the lane opened out into the Slad valley and I knew Dave's lens had to now be used. I couldn't decide whether to lose the brilliant colours from the morning, to be replaced with the subdued, dulcet tones of the distant sunset. What do you think? You may even notice the hot-air balloon, which was there so briefly.

There are four shots HERE. I prefer the first. Let me know if I was right or wrong? Thank you.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.