CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

My melange

The sun had said goodbye before I could film outside. So I thought I'd try a close-up of an unusual flower that I have.

I bought a small cactus plant a few years ago, and was later surprised by a volunteer plant that arrived from who know's where. It seemed to come from a translucent white seed, a bit like a mistletoe, which settled andgrew on one side of the cactus, whilst another apparently wind-blown fern seed grew opposite it. This funny array of species has repeatedly flowered and then died down.

Now, however, I fear the fern has gone for good, but the volunteer has started flowering again. The flower head is tiny and bell-like, with green petals and pink stamens capped with yellow tips of pollen, I think. I find it difficult to photograph. Its leaves are like an orchid, with mottled patches of white on dark green, which you can see. My rather poor lighting hasn't made it any easier for you to see, especially in this collage of some other plants on the table..

It may not be perfect, but I like the overall colourful look, despite not seeing the flowers too clearly. It is a melange to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.