CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Spirited living

I am writing my journal late in the evening and I don't even know what my blip will be, except that it is inspired by Dennis, who appeared HERE .

We went for dinner at his home with several friends, both new and old. Dennis is amongst countless 'things', a Riff-Raff poet, and they will be performing on Saturday 18th December, at Star Anise cafe in Stroud, where Helena will be performing her poetry too. Jeff Cloves, the other remaining Riff-Raffian was there too. I have known Jeff for many, many moons starting long ago in London town.

Dennis showed me some of the posters he made in the 1960s to promote the first Aldermaston march, organised by the Committee of 100. This was just the beginning of countless stunning designs about vital subjects, with minimum equipment and maximum skill.

His home is a living collage of inspirations and explorations, resulting in his relentless graphic print production. As I mentioned before, he is a living legend and still up for fighting the fight where and when necessary. He thinks it is now. I am going to look at my pictures and find my blip for tonight .....


.... it has to be Dennis, drinking his beloved local cider. His work which surrounded us on the walls and in the piles of his hand-printed cards, fliers and posters must wait for another day. He treated us to a delightful evening of food and drink and revelry. Cheers, or even Slainte Mhath!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.