The Lizard Meanders

By lizardmeanders

Spoon With Me

Freezing and rainy last night after we came home from daughter #3's holiday concert at the university-- she plays the violin, and is in the university orchestra as well as in the quartet. Daughter #2 came, too; as well as two of our neighbors; and daughter #4 was happy her BFF was there. They were all agog at the bake sale/fundraiser in the lobby during intermission; and the adults were busy snapping up music CDs going for $2 apiece.

We all just had an early dinner (a salad of petite lettuces sprinkled with festive looking pomegranate seeds and cherry tomatoes-- with a pear-champagne dressing; and some chicken pot pie).

After dishes were done and daughter #4 and the hubby worked on the former's 3D map project for school, I decided to organize the kitchen drawers. Lo and behold, my little collection of hand-carved Cordillera spoons emerged from out of one and just begged to be Blipped. I also found this gold-hued cloth my mother gave me around six years ago, with the admonition to turn it into a tablecloth or something (it remains unfinished).

Photo shows the handles of some of these serving spoons. Leftmost spoon has a Bulol or wooden granary god carved on its handle; the one right next to it has a lizard; the third one from left is plain; and the fourth or rightmost one has a frog apparently doing its morning stretchies. I put a photo of most of my hand-carved spoons (including a salad serving fork and spoon), on one of my Facebook albums, here.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.