just allan

By allan

Makers Mark

I'm very slowly renovating a piano I bought very cheaply several years ago. As I remove layers of yukky brown paint I've discovered that it was made about 100 years ago by "Arthur Anderson and Sons" in London and sold by "Paterson & Sons" in Edinburgh or Glasgow. When this wording was revealed as the paint stripped off, I was thrilled.

The fact that these things were basically mass produced by craftsmen is amazing in our disposable MP3 player world. Everything about it is just beautiful and perfectly working. OK, I doubt it's perfectly tunable (I'll try that once the woodwork is cleaned up) but as a "thing" it's quite special and it's really rewarding to work on. My only worry is that my "Nitromors and toothbrush" attack might not be the most professional job in the world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.