Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Back Home

We are home again. The hardwood floors needed to be sanded and finished so we headed off to Florence for some good Grandkid time. My parents were thrilled and as usual, the kids had a ball. It was nice to be able to spend a nice long time together. My Dad of course treated the kids to pancakes and cocoa. I was able to go to my Mom's book club luncheon with her. Being from such a small town, we ran into all sorts of people that I have known for a very long time. We got to try out the town's new 24 hour restaurant. I was able to get some more pictures of the bridge and the dunes. It was just a really nice week. A rainy indoor week. But a good cozy one with my parents.

-------------

We had a nice easy drive home to find out that the hardwood floors were not finished properly. I know that we are particular to detail, but the finisher used two different types of sheen and there are little pieces of gravel stuck in the stain throughout the entire room. So frustrating. So completely and utterly disappointing. I feel like my husband and I roll with the punches pretty well when something changes unexpectedly or we've gotten our hopes up about something......but this time..... Well we just feel defeated. Back to square one with the floors. Back to still feeling unsettled and unorganized in our home when we had counted on getting everything back in order again tomorrow. I will stop with the pity party but today, we are over this. We need to get this project done and over with. And I hate to even complain because the finishing result is going to be gorgeous. But we spent a lot of money on floors that have far too many mistakes. Money that we won't be getting back. Okay, I'm done now. I can only vent so much here on blip........

(Oh and today's blip... My Dad is making these gorgeous wine holders now out in his shop. He made us one for our new kitchen and it is a beautiful example of how talented he is)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.