I am rosco

By iamrosco

The never ending job

On that subject, this week off feels great. Getting things done, looking at venues for the wedding, seeing a miracle with my own eyes, christmas shopping, taking photos and looking out for more snow.

I am enjoying the task of taking a (half decent) photo each day and get it blipped. At first it was all about the photos, I never cared much for the description part. That was not exclusive to Blip - Flickr and other sites I have posted to in the past have all coped without my verbiage. Recently my opinion of this has shifted, it was a fellow blipper who said it was as much about the words as the photos for himself. This, amongst other things, has spurred me to try to make a note with each photo, be it interesting or not (to myself or others). I hope that in the future I can look back at it and recall what was happening, and why I was so (more than likely) angry. Maybe it will be of interest to those that know me, but that may just be too far fetched. With all that in mind, here I go...

Getting things done:
It seems that it is not just me that is getting things dine this week - finally our bin store has been emptied! The bin lorry spent a good 25 mins outside our window this morning, destroying any hope of a lie-in, but I'd rather be rid of the smell that was greeting us just by our front door. You see, our street does not get gritted, not much anyway. THis is not unexpected - we are not a main street by any stretch, Virgin never laid any cable on it (when they were doing 'the whole of Edinburgh') and, hell, even Google couldn't be bothered 'Street Viewing'* it properly, the car seems to have stopped about 10 metres down it and turned around!

Looking at wedding venues:
As the lie-in was a non-starter, we got up and headed out to South Queensferry to look at a venue. Good trip, nice place, amazing views (see photo above). That's all I'll say here, we went on to somewhere else but I'd rather not bore you further.

Seeing a miracle:
After the South Queensferry visit, we had an appointment out the other side of town. With a spare 20 mins and that we were passing the flat anyway, I ducked back for a cheeky espresso (freshly ground beans of course - see Sunday 12th) and piece of coffee and walnut cake (see Tuesday 14th) and what should happen... CityLink rolled up and delivered my packages that I was fuming about yesterday. It was nothing short of miraculous, or at least it felt that way. The driver even commented that it was nice to finally catch someone in!

Christmas shopping:
Nipped into town after another cheeky espresso, finished up almost all the presents now, just a few wee bits for some young relatives and that's that. Sorted.

Taking photos:
See above.

Looking out for more snow:
Also decided to stock up our freezer for the impending snow dump. Cupboards full to bursting now too, so we are totally prepared, we even bought an ice scraper - prepared for any eventuality now (well, any frozen window based eventuality). Just checked the window again, and it's not started yet...




* I think I have just invented a new verb - to street view: (v) to drive around photographing everyone and everything

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.