I am rosco

By iamrosco

The very hungry caterpillar

Today was a good day.

Pros: no waiting in for deliveries, unexpectedly met L for lunch, saw Mr Snow erupt #ahem, 10 metres in the air my a*%e#, finished christmas shopping, made some prints in the darkroom at Stills, and managed to get wedding venues down to a small shortlist.

Cons: Mr Snow's lacklustre performance (I'm sorry, but I was promised 10 metre high snow), freezing my hands off taking some photos.

I should take it easy on Mr Snow, I imagine it was the media getting carried away with itself that produced the quoted numbers. It is, after all, awesome to have a giant robot in the middle of town - I am currently sleeping safe in the knowledge that if Godzilla was to attack Edinburgh right now, we have a big-ass robot to protect us* (at least until Nessie gets here...).

Back on topic, hope you like the shot. I always find the weird rides in the gardens each christmas funny. They are, of course, the same ones that come to the meadows when the fair is in town, except the gardens can only accommodate the smaller ones. THis one, the caterpillar rollercoaster is my favourite. It is presented at this time of year as something along the lines of Santa's Christmas Pudding ride, at least last year they painted the car to look like a christmas pudding.

After watching some underwhelmed kids and their overly enthusiastic parents hurtle meander round the track, I thought I'd try to capture the thrill, excitement and speed of it. I'll leave you to decide whether you get that or not.


* This is a surprisingly good match to Mr Snow's looks, but I think I prefer
this representation of the fight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.