Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Remains

A couple of nights ago, I popped myself some popcorn, and last night, I nibbled on what was leftover. Sometimes I think that almost stale popcorn beats freshly popped.

As much as I have appreciated the quick, easy, no-mess aspect of microwave popcorn, I prefer to pop my own on the stovetop. Growing up, my dad would make popcorn almost every Sunday night. At that time, paper bags were the means by which groceries were brought home, and my dad would give the bags a second life by doubling them up and dumping the just-popped popcorn into them with some salt and Parmesan cheese. The sound of the shaking still echoes in my ears.

So, every now and then, when asked "paper or plastic?" by the bagger at the grocery store, I choose paper so that I can actually hear that sound again. And I still like my popcorn with salt and Parmesan cheese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.