Season to be jolly.

Caught red handed - and I don't mean the cat either. Got a parcel that needs picked up. Nothing to do with Crimbles, just an ongoing event in the TV amp saga, but had organised with DHL to have it picked up today. Now, if you go anywhere in our house you are pretty much out of ear shot of the door knocker - and none of the delivery companies that come here on an occasional basis seem to be able to work out that the BELL is more likely to attract attention. So I stayed close by.... for most of the day. When I finally gave up and tried phoning them it took ages to get through.

Then, after 20 minutes on a premium number (the one that I had requested the pick up on), I was told that they couldn't deal with me and that I'd have to call another line. (They couldn't transfer me either because apparently they don't do that). Being the calm considerate understanding old Hector that I usually am, I duly thanked the guy and went off to call the correct part of the company on yet another premium number. Luckily I got through much more quickly this time.

After I explained that my parcel hadn't been picked up, without making any attempt to apologise the girl told me that they would not be picking it up today, or tomorrow for that matter. Apparently, the day after I had placed my order the company had decided to suspend all collections because the weather was awful and they had a huge backlog of things in the warehouse as it was. Nobody thought to tell me though.

Of course I complained and was only told that she was trying to help. Not quite clear what she was helping with though. She couldn't tell me anything so to avoid having to spend yet another day waiting to no avail I cancelled.

That's where it all gets better. Not too slow about taking money from your account, but OMG, why does it take them at least five working days to credit it back again? How much interest do these huge companies accumulate in this way? Nifty trick if you can pull it off.

Anyway stopping moaning. After all it is "the season to be jolly". The cat certainly thought so and although she looks as guilty as sin, I did give her this to play with. Too cute not to post....



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.