Who knew?

By InOtherNews

Ghost Fish

ooooh spooky, this is the ghost fish of Tank Number One.

The story goes like this. I've kept fishtanks for around six years now. You can see from this despite having a colourful tank I do like to let a bit of green grow every now and again. After all it is an eco system I am keeping and not a pet. So anyway in Nov 2008 I moved back into my house and brought this tank with me from my mental ex's mothers house (long story, but she ripped me off for £600. Hate that woman) and returned it to my abode. At this point the fish you see here was a bit reclusive.

Come April 2009 I hadn't seen him at all. My tank is three foot by two foot, how can he hide? I moved ornaments and all sorts and concluded that he was dead and been eaten by the others. Then in July OF THIS YEAR I happened to mooch past my tank and noticed a flash of orange movement. The sneaky little sod had been compacting himself to half his usual size and hiding in the lip of a skull I have in there, even remaining still when I fished the skull out! Then he started doing it again, and I thought I'd never see him again. This morning I nip in my living room to grab my camera for todays blip and there he was. Talk about serving it up on a plate. I snapped once before he disappeared into the hole behind him, probably for another six months. You lucky blippers.

He did have a name. I have a habit of naming my pets after City players. I've had Costello the Goldfish, Sedgemore the Guinea Pig, Gainy the Cactus (not a pet as I explained to a fellow blipper the other night BUT still something I formed a bond with) and Forrester the Parrot Cichlid. I think I initially called this fish Willis because it was a Clown Loach and Scotty Willis was a clown. Anyhow he's been in hiding too long now to warrant a name.

No ranting today. No moaning about what I don't have. See there is something symbolic in seeing this fish this morning, this blast from the past. It reminded me that sometimes you can have something, something inisde you like a trait or a skill that you think has gone, and then BAM one day you realise it's still there. Well I have that, I have something inside me that sometimes I lose sight of and it takes something to give me some perspective. I place far too much emphasis on this being single thing. My friend Alison told me Wednesday that it didn't matter if I found a girl now or not because it would never work. Apparently I have to be happy with myself before I can be happy with anyone else. So from today onwards I have to try giving that a go.

Oh yeah and Julian Assange is a dick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.