The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Sopwith Hunter

After the first war Tommy Sopwith had to start a new aircraft company (can't remember why but I think it was for legal reasons) and he named it after Harry Hawker who I think was his chief test pilot or designer - I forget which. Harry Hawker became very well off, mainly because Sopwith paid him a bonus (fifty or a hundred quid I think) on each aircraft that left the factory - and there were a lot of aeroplanes made between the wars. As you might have guessed, it's a long while since I read Sir Tommy's biography - but it was a very good read. They used to design the Sopwith biplanes by drawing them full size on the hangar floor... I think... Maybe I should read it again.
Ooh that hanger's giving off a bit of moire isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.