Biking on Fridays

Waking up on time hasn't been easy. I always crave those extra five minutes and it keeps becoming ten or fifteen until it becomes absolutely necessary for me to throw the covers off myself. I make it just in time. Today I saw the beautiful clear skies, the first rays of the sun kissing everything it touched and I felt happy. I told myself, if I could spare a few minutes before work, I could take a picture or two on my way. We had a meeting to begin the day and I was fairly at peace given the good results we had last evening. It turned out to be a most useful meeting (this is not an oxymoron, no matter how much Raheny_eye insists) and things were looking good. I kept gazing out of the window and finally gave in to my temptation and took the bike for a brief spin before lunch. The wind was calm, the temperature balanced, the bare trees brown, the grass yellow, work stable as I rode into the Greenway. I loved the beautiful sunlight after the last week which has been colourless and icy. Had a sumptuous lunch and perhaps could have ordered even more, but seeing some of the customers and how large they were, I decided not to push it. But later in the evening, we had cupcakes distributed at work and I had one with huge layers of strawberry cream! Things continued to get better at work as the day progressed and much of what we were struggling to achieve over the past couple of weeks finally got done. Today was one of my most satisfying days at this job.

And it having coincided with Friday, I decided to leave early. The light was too beautiful to let go. Rode deep into the Greenway this time, but without the helmet, I didn't try climbing the treacherous slopes and kept to the path. In Atlanta, I am unable to cycle the way I do in India. Even if I start with the intention of really pushing myself, the beautiful light stops me and I pick my camera up. Spent some time pointing the lens into the sun, watching the large blue skies ahead sprayed with white while a flattened moon rose. The Big creek was still frozen.

I am happiest when I'm amid nature. Wrapped the day with some reading, music and a bowl of delicious tomato soup.

P.S. Only had the 50mm with me and when I'm outdoors and seek inclusive frames, this lens is too long. Wish I had the other one.

Larger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.