Adda

By Adda

the Brrrrr ride...

It was cold today...not New York or London kind of cold, not even New Delhi kind of cold but still, cold. When I pushed my bike out of my apartment gate, it was pitch dark - about 45-50 minutes before sunrise...I could feel the cold air all over my face, my ears, arms and legs...for a moment, I had this thought of turning back hitting the bed...but these are just passing thoughts that come and go almost every Saturday morning...I pedaled hard and sped towards the starting point...the blinding headlights of the trucks were both - a boon and a bane. The bright glaring lights were totally cutting my vision off, forcing me to climb down from the road...in the dark, I just hoped that I was not riding into the drain or big pothole...on the other hand, the bright lights were my only source of warmth (or the illusion of it). The speed ride to the starting point warmed me up and I was ready for the ride ahead. As I waited for my other co-riders to join in, I quickly lost all the body heat and my arms went cold again.

We were riding at a good pace today. For most part of the ride, we were riding at upwards of 25 km/hr. We rode by cotton fields, by open empty areas, under the canopies, to mention a few...We did have a lot of breaks today - breaks to click a picture or two, break to let the trailing rider catch up and the longest break was for hot aaloo paratha breakfast from a street side eatery...the choice of breakfast was probably not the best as we had a long way to ride after that...most part of that ride was inclines and rough roads making us really push harder...though I rode 70km last weekend as well but today's ride was tougher...but still it was rather enjoyable...guess it is time to go for longer ones...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.