The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Apple Tree #2

Yesterday I mooted the idea of an occasional series of the view from this window, to show the gradual changes over time, especially of the apple tree.

The tree's appearance had altered more dramatically overnight than I had foreseen, and prompted me to begin the series sooner than expected. I couldn't help noticing that it had snowed.

I also took pictures of Smokey surveying the scene from the conservatory, and some snowy shots on Berhills Farm of the sun setting, and of a buzzard calling from a tree (it sounds better than it looks - the buzzard was small and blurry in all the shots), but decided this was my preferred shot.

In the picture you can see the Cherhill downs beyond Calne in the distance, on which stands the previously blipped Lansdowne monument (visible from this window on a clear day) and the neolithic hill fort Oldbury Castle. To the left of the picture is the telegraph pole which conveys the phone and broadband cable to the cottage. The leaning chimney is redundant but used to be for the Aga in next door's kitchen extension, and at the bottom runs the hated fence of which I spoke yesterday. The snow on the tree is catching the sun at 14:35 hr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.