TrishaR

By TrishaR

The Balloon that went to London!

Last Saturday before Christmas is always busy. I even had to make out a list - so much going on in my head. Picked up Cameron from his house, and we headed into town. The Farmer's market was on, poor traders must have been freezing standing at their stalls, apart from the ones that were offering hot food, we had lots of nice samples! We headed to our lovely independent store, McEwans, for a nice bowl of soup to heat us up and as we bought something over £10, we were able to draw a ticket from the tombola, which offered a variety of prizes. Cameron picked a ticket, the lady looked up the book and told him he was lucky, he picked a good one, he won his papa £50! Big smiles, maybe he will use this to buy me a nice bottle of expensive perfume!!

We split up, Scott went with his dad and Cameron & I went to buy his mum a birthday card and present for his birthday on Monday. In the shopping centre a couple of girls were giving away helium balloons and chocolates to the kids so Cameron picked his, a lovely big red one. Met up with Papa & Scott outside a shop, I had been holding the balloon when in another shop, but as I was handing it back to him I misjudged his grasp and Up, Up and Away floated the red balloon. Tears, many tears and recriminations as he had asked me a few times to tie it to his wrist (I didn't) Bad nana he said. Bribed him with an ice cream at our favourite shop. I went for a wreath at the flower shop across the road and papa whispered to me as I returned that the balloon incident was mentioned again.

When we got out of the car on arriving back at the house he asked if the balloon would be in London by now!

And at tea-time, as I stole a bite of his roll, Nana, you have been very bad today, eating my roll and losing my balloon!

Oh well, can't be perfect all the time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.