Daily Wild

By emyjane

Top Bird #4 Brambling!

View Large

Having not yet seen a waxwing, I was beginning to despair, was I going to see anything exciting this Winter??? Yesterday I saw this bird, although he disappeared so fast, thought I was imagining it! Then he came into the garden today, first sighting - I was so stunned I forgot the use of my arms to raise camera to take photo - second sighting - I was about to have lunch & camera wasn't in my hand! Then he came & posed so happily right opposite the kitchen windows - I have never been so close to a brambling before! Happy person now! :)

They're Winter visitors, usually you find them in huge finch flocks in the countryside, they only come to gardens when the Winter is harsh - which it is. They're a member of the finch family & sometimes are confused with chaffinches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.