Marie

Today has been a day of people.

A cancelled train resulted in a one sided conversation with a fella in our local railway station. In between cans of lager, phone calls to a variety of women folk (Shez, Shaz and someone else), he got more and more irate about the delayed arrival of the next train. 4 cans of Carlsberg in 40 minutes, and forty "f" words a minute. I stepped away from the crazy man and went and froze on the platform instead.

On the train, a man with jeans that were too small for his large frame lifted his suitcase onto the rack above my head, with his flies unzipped - I looked up at JUST the wrong moment.

Coffee @ Costa in Liverpool Lime Street and slowly but surely the blippers arrived. MV, Annie and myself pondered on whether it was just going to be us, but then Linda arrived. Soon after, an uncertain Matt wandered over and asked "Are you blippers?" - relief unbounded when we said yes! Paul joined us shortly afterwards and so the little band of blippers were ready to go and wander.

It was FREEZING and slippy, and I am lucky I didn't end up on my bum at least twice.

Fun fun fun though. Too much coffee. Shouldn't drink Gluhwein on an empty stomach. I did a little dance with Linda at Liverpool One! (That was PRIOR to Gluhwein). I know Annie got a shot of it - I'm waiting to see where it turns up!

At Lime Street, whilst stood outside having a quick ciggie, drinking my second gingerbread latte of the day, this lovely woman started talking to me - her opening line "Hiya luv, do you know where I can buy some Baileys?". Ten minutes later, she is asking me if I would like to take her photo to remember her by! She apologised for being "sh**faced" (her words), stood on the concourse, arms outstretched and this is it! In that ten minutes, I forgot that I was frozen to the core. A liverpudlian, born and bred, reminded me that humour and open-ness are wonderful traits that can bring a smile to even the grumpiest of girls. As quick as she announced herself into my little world, she was gone, with a twirl, and a hug, and a big "Have a wonderful Christmas". I watched her go - she disappeared so quickly into the crowd and I felt a little twinge that she was gone - she would have been fun to sit next to on the train home had we been travelling in the same direction.

Some more here

Have a great evening everyone. It's time for doing nothing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.