Adda

By Adda

the day off...

took a day off today...had a driving test for the license this morning...yesterday when I went for my refresher driving class in the morning, I realized how badly I suck at driving a car...given the number of miles (around 30,000) that I've put behind the wheel when I was in US, this kind of driving is just not acceptable...driving here is a totally different ball game...having driven only auto-transmission cars earlier, negotiating a geared one demands a lot more attention and focus...I am totally bogged down by the too many things to control (riding a bicycle is a hell lot easier!)...there are way too many variables and not necessarily all are in your control, including the moron who decides to cut across the road without bothering to look for approaching vehicles...the instructor seemed confident that I would clear the test, I had my doubts though...well, I was proved wrong this morning when the transport officer stamped a 'passed' on my form.

I took rest of the day off for no particular reason...taking such random days off can be so refreshing...I just lazed around throughout rest of the day and even managed to catch an afternoon siesta...I had plans of going for a short ride in the afternoon but didn't realize when I dozed off...woken up by a call from office in late afternoon, I pulled the chair, fixed some coffee and sat in the balcony, watching the moon rise, the sky get darker, until the moon was the only thing visible in the sky...

for most part of the week, we all race against time...at times, it is good to take a break, sit down by the road, take a deep breath and watch time overtake you...you know you'd have to race again to catch up tomorrow...

P.S. 750+ blips down, appears my first moon blip :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.