My Own Standing Stones

Well ...... the slates round the edge of my pond anyway.

I shifted more snow this morning before heading out and buying SWMBO her Christmas present - I can't tell you what it is in case she reads this.

In the minutes I was out of the car to get the present the temperature dropped 6C ........... to -7c. No wonder it looked as if the birds had been stamping their feet to stay warm on my friends doorstep when I dropped in for a coffee and toast.




The camera club had a 'Fun' competition tonight with the titles Boats, Birds and Boulders.
What should have happened is each person entering put in 1 image for each title. These then get marked and totalled up o see who won. The idea is to get people to think out of the box and enter fun pictures.

Well .......... not with the judge.
Anything that was fun or funny got marked down (not a serious picture).
He wasn't juding the image presented to him he was judging what HE thought the picture should be ........ get rid of this - crop that - take it on a different day. That sort of thing.

The idea of these fun competitions is to try and encourage new members and beginers to enter competitions and show their work.
I can't see that happening ........... Here is a picture - it is rubbish - go back and take a completely different shot that I like - have a crap mark.

Next year I am going to go out of my way to enter pictures to piss off and challenge the judges - might even do things like salt prints and cyanotypes. That will confuse the shit out of them.


Now ..... where did I put that beer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.