Turkeys. I Just Don't Like 'Em.

Thanksgiving is quickly approaching, and I am hosting again this year. I really don't mind, except that we really aren't big fans of turkey. To be frank, we're more thankful for prime rib. And despite trying to serve it in the past to family members who are more thankful for turkey, even we realize it's not quite the same.

So in a never-ending quest to make the traditionalists in the family happy and to make the turkey palatable to those of us who don't really like it, my husband purchased a fancy turkey roaster that promises to deliver a knock-your-socks-off juicy turkey. He wanted to give it a trial run tonight.

We had such high expectations -- hundreds of people on Amazon raved about how wonderful their turkey was when roasted in this thing. We were very disappointed. I think, though, with a few adjustments it'll turn out better on the big day.

Ironically, on the way to the grocery store this evening, I passed this rafter of carefree turkeys, and I was reminded that I'm not fond of the living kind of turkeys either. I only took their picture because I hadn't taken a photo yet today and, well, there they were.

So, turkey it is for Thanksgiving this year. Our fingers are crossed that it turns out, but I'm already looking forward to planning my Christmas dinner. Hmmm...standing rib roast or beef wellington?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.