Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

Lancing Manor Park with Dixie: Late December

How did it get so late so soon? Its night before its afternoon. December is here before its June. My goodness how the time has flewn. How did it get so late so soon? ~ Dr. Seuss

The most important thing in illness is never to lose heart. ~Nikolai Lenin

My best friend is sick.
How can I think about anything else?
How do I put words on paper?
I spend hours just watching her sleep
She sleeps a lot.

In the rare moments when she smiles
and wags her tail
My gaze turns into a mad stare
as I try to memorise the moment,
sear it into the brain
Just in case
those moments are numbered.

The experts have placed
a limit on her movements
But today we took a brief walk
in the park with her red coat on
Alas, no ball throwing
Even so, she was in heaven.

The park was bleak and wintery
with seagulls playing the part
of carrion crow.

I paused from my worry to take this shot.

She pays a price for that twenty minutes of joy.

Now she sleeps...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.