Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

Winter Solstice with Dixie

Illness has always brought me nearer to a state of grace.
Abbe Pierre


Dogs are miracles with paws. ~Attributed to Susan Ariel Rainbow Kennedy

This day was the Winter Solstice.

I hesitated to post this photo but it was the only one I took that day.

It was a bad day for Dixie. The day before she had had a stress test. It took a lot out of her. She still sleeps a lot but we occasionally see her happy cheerful self, waggy tail and all. Unfortunately, those outburst take a lot out of her and she has to sleep to recover.

Her illness isn't terminal. It just feels terminal to me because I miss my happy, playful doggie so very much. She will have more tests after Christmas and hopefully we will have whatever is making her ill identified, out the door and forgotten.

In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer.
Albert Camus

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.