Hop Barn

By hopbarn

A Walk in the Park

We have had a super day. The family together, Mum home from hospital looking much better. My gorgeous daughter cooked a tremendous lunch of venison stew with spaetzle after which we went for a walk in the park. I was so like Narnia there, beautifull!
I've been told lots of family stories about this park - the one the most sticks in my mind is that during and after the War (WW2) my Mum and her brother were sent to this park by their parents with an old pram to collect twigs for firewood to keep warm. When there was nothing left to burn in nearby woods, gardens and railway embankments, the dining room furniture, a lovely Queen Anne style set, got chopped up. All that is left of it is a mahogany butler table which I treasure. Anyway, don't wish to be maudlin, must be the chocolate liquer! Must go and watch 'It's a Wonderful Life' - hope there is some room on the sofa for me!

I hope you are all safe and warm with your loved ones. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.