rack focus

By noahd1

Blizzard

We had our first significant storm of the season today in New York City and its been quite a storm - a blizzard in fact, and still going. I can hear the whistle of wind blowing snow outside my window as I type.

The top photo was taken in my backyard at around 10:20 A.M and the bottom, from the same location 13 hours later. While in retrospect not strictly necessary, I lined the two shots up using a tripod. Leaving a tripod out in a blizzard has some challenges, and probably isn't the best thing in the world for it. I don't tend to own equipment that is "blizzard proof". My blizzard proofing was placing a towel over the head of the tripod so that snow would not build up in the critical location where one places the camera. The towel was blown off a few times. By the end of the day, the tripod was nearly entirely buried. (the tripod, of course, is not in its fully extended position -- it's not that cheap)

Given the strength of the storm, I partially regret not re-attempting a time lapse that I did last season. But only partially, as that project involves going outside nearly every hour, which makes for something of a cold, miserable day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.